Celebration of World Intellectual Property Day, 2024

The "World Intellectual Property Day" was celebrated on 25th April, 2024 at ICAR-IISR, Lucknow. The theme of this year Intellectual Property (IP) day was IP and the SDGs: Building our common future with innovation and creativity. This event was organized by Institute Technology Management Unit (ITMU) by conducting awareness programme on IP Management. At the outset, Dr. L.S. Gangwar, Principal Scientist and I/c, ITMU welcomed Dr. R. Viswanathan, Director, IISR; Dr. Vikas Bhati, Assistant Professor, Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University, Lucknow, Dr. Dinesh Singh, Project Coordinator (AICRP), all Head of Divisions and the participants. He also delivered talk on role of WIPO in IP regime and brief about the IP profile of institute, importance of commercialization of registered technologies and revenue generation through IP enabled technologies. The guest speaker, Dr. VikasBhati, delivered his lecture on "IP filing and Management". He also discussed about the role of IP management, assessment of commercial value of IP products on actual cost value for development of technology, strategically leverage of intellectual property assets within an organization. The guest speaker has also discussed the role of IP agents/professional in writing the IP application, filing and IP protection in the area of agricultural research. Dr. Kamini Singh, Research Associate, ITMU, has also delivering a lecture on "Filing design patent: An extremely easy way to add IP in your IP profile". She also highlighted the status of the IPRs legislations in India with illustrations. Dr. R. Viswanathan, Director, ICAR-IISR, Lucknow delivered the Chairman remarks. He gave a brief overview on the importance of intellectual property rights in agricultural research. He also highlighted about limitations which faced by the scientists incommercialization of IP owned technologies. He urged the scientists to protect first their novel innovated technologies rather than publishing research papers. The vote of thanks was delivered by Dr. Ashwani Kumar Sharma, Principal Scientist and I/c, AKMU.







